Annual Awards & Recognition

The Governmental Collectors Association of Texas is a non-profit association that recognizes, supports, and serves governmental collection programs in the state of Texas. The association seeks to enhance the collection of revenue for governmental entities by promoting, innovation, information, and education within its membership and encouraging excellence. It is the vision of this organization to make the state of Texas a recognized leader in the effective and efficient collection of due revenue.

With this in mind the association annually awards and recognizes those individuals and organizations that have worked to achieve excellence and set the standard for all of us to follow.

Award Categories

Most Innovative Program

Awarded to the organization selected as having most improved collections by developing and implementing innovative procedures, systems, or techniques in the past year.

Collector of the Year

Awarded to the collector selected as having had the greatest impact on collections and the collections effort for their city or county in the past year.

Collections Program of the Year

Awarded to the program showing the most dramatic increase in revenue for their city or county in the past year.

Excellence In Service Award

Awarded to the individuals or programs selected for unselfishly providing assistance to others embodying the elements of dedication, commitment, and service, to the association and its membership.

Becky Sirmans Award

Awarded to the individuals or programs selected for finding a way to succeed in spite of seemingly insurmountable obstacles and challenges embodying the spirit to never give up.

Honorary Membership

Honorary membership is an honor reserved for those non-member individuals that the association believes have gone above and beyond the call of duty in assisting the association in achieving its mission and vision.

Nomination Process

In a paragraph of 100 words or less explain why your nominee should receive the award in the category you specify. The nominee must be a GCAT member in good standing. Your nomination must include:

  • Your name, title, city/county/court represented
  • Nominees name, title, city/county/court represented
  • Awards category
  • Give examples and if possible provide support (statistics are helpful).

Submit the nominations to Rochelle Kimbrough at [email protected] or Ernest Gonzalez at [email protected]  no later than 12:00 noon on July 15. Winners will be announced at the Annual Conference in September.

2023 Award Winners


A total of 5 annual GCAT Conference scholarships are available. The scholarship will cover your GCAT Conference Registration fee for one calendar year only. The criteria is a 150-200 word description on how attending the GCAT Conference will benefit your city or county. You can not receive another GCAT Scholarship if the county or city has already won in the past 5 years. Email all essays to Tanya Skinner at [email protected] or Stephanie McCormick at [email protected]  by 3:00 p.m. on July 15.